Oh, the joy of standardized tests….

Ok, seriously, don’t run away at the title of this post!  I know, we all just LOVE standardized assessment time.  I am lucky (or not…) to have all of my students on Alternate Assessment, so they don’t take the Iowa Assessment, but the rest of my building is preparing for the big test week.  Because we are a SINA school, we are required to take extra measures to improve our test scores.  This year, we decided to run a TEST CAMP!  Students got to stay after school and take part in sessions to prepare them for the test.  Sessions included nutrition and relaxation, skimming, bubbling, main idea, and calculators to name a few.  The parents were invited for the last half hour to meet with our principal to ask questions about ways they can help prepare their student for success at home!  The camp ended with a couple of great motivational videos and some words from our SUCCESS worker and the principal.  Then, everyone got to eat pizza!  It was a great bonding experience for the students, it was a great chance for me to interact with the students of our general education population, and hopefully, the students will be more confident when it comes to test week!  Here is the Test Taking Tips handout we gave to all of our students.  Maybe you can use it, too!

How do you prepare your students for standardized tests?

About krummme

I have been working with children with special needs in some capacity or other for the last 9 years. I am currently in my third year teaching in a self-contained classroom for students with Intellectual Disabilities. In addition to my classroom responsibilities, I am also a wife and mother. While the jobs of wife and mother bring me the most joy, I get so much out of my work with my students. This blog is the musings of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh, the joy of standardized tests….

  1. Sandy Hoefakker says:

    I like your idea of the testing workshop for the kids. How did that go over with the parents? I think as the years go by, the parents place less and less stress on this week for our students.

Leave a Reply

