Pass me a tissue

If your classroom is anything like mine, you have already gone through all of the tissues the students brought in at the beginning of the school year!  I have had to put out a plea to families to send more tissues to school.  In addition to the excess of runny noses this year (mine and the students), everyone in the room is guilty of using tissues to clean off dry-erase boards.

I do lots of different activities using dry-erase boards and grabbing a tissue to wipe off the writing is easier than walking to the white board to grab the eraser.  But, this means that each time we do a whole class dry-erase board activity, we use a minimum of 7 tissues.  Today, I finally decided to whip up a creation I saw on Pinterest.

photo-3

I grabbed a handful of extra yellow pom-poms from a math work station, some glue, and my dry-erase markers and created built-in erasers!  I can’t wait to try these out with the kids tomorrow!  Ideally, we will go through tissues at a much slower rate and hopefully, not lose any marker caps in the process!

What are some of your favorite Pinterest creations for the classroom?

By the way, if you want to follow my teacher pins on Pinterest, you can find me by searching for ‘krummsped’ and if you need an invitation to join Pinterest, just leave me a comment and I will send you an invite!

About krummme

I have been working with children with special needs in some capacity or other for the last 9 years. I am currently in my third year teaching in a self-contained classroom for students with Intellectual Disabilities. In addition to my classroom responsibilities, I am also a wife and mother. While the jobs of wife and mother bring me the most joy, I get so much out of my work with my students. This blog is the musings of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pass me a tissue

  1. Helen says:

    Oh, how I love Pinterest!!! I love all of the creative and colorful posters for the classroom. My favorite one is the “Dear Students…” letter to the class. Another favorite is the wacky straws as a birthday gift – you can attach a happy birthday flower or note and keep it in a flower pot throughout the school year. Fantastic blog Mrs. Krumm!

  2. Sandy Hoefakker says:

    LOVE Pinterest!! I will have to look at the dear student letter. This is a really cute idea!

Leave a Reply

