Intelligence in the Classroom

What is your strongest area of intelligence according to Gardner?  According to good old Wikipedia, Gardner proposed a theory of multiple intelligences that basically break down how we learn and how we learn differently from one another.  After taking this quiz, I found that I primarily fall under the musical intelligence category – that is, I learn best aurally.  Many students with special needs, however, fall into the kinesthetic category.  I was surprised to see that, according to the quiz, kinesthetic intelligence is one of my weaker areas.  So, I started to look at how this relates to my own teaching.

photo 2

I found a great kinesthetic approach right in my classroom closet that my kids love and I want to share it with you!  This is our classroom set of exercise dice.  The kids take turns rolling the dice, identifying the number, reading the exercise, and then counting out loud as they complete the exercise.  We practice number identification, phonics, and counting while getting up, moving, increasing our heart rate, and building gross motor skills.  The kids love this game and have no idea how much they are getting out of it.  And, I know how much more they are benefitting simply from the kinesthetic approach.

What do you do to address kinesthetic learning in your classroom?  Do your students primarily learn from one of the other areas of intelligence?  How do you meet their needs as learners?

About krummme

I have been working with children with special needs in some capacity or other for the last 9 years. I am currently in my third year teaching in a self-contained classroom for students with Intellectual Disabilities. In addition to my classroom responsibilities, I am also a wife and mother. While the jobs of wife and mother bring me the most joy, I get so much out of my work with my students. This blog is the musings of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Intelligence in the Classroom

  1. Sandy Hoefakker says:

    Isn’t that interesting how we teach to which area we are? But, I think we need to branch out a bit. Have you ever done the colors test? That is interesting! And, interesting to see where your kids are at too!

  2. krummme says:

    Sandy-
    We just did the colors test as a building professional development last year! I am a blue! The colors test really helped with some communication difficulties between some of the teachers and classroom associates. It is difficult to use the colors to work with my students because of their needs. Pinpointing their color is difficult and they don’t necessarily respond to conflict in the standard ways presented in the colors tests. It is so eye-opening to use the multiple intelligences, colors, or DiSC profiles (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DISC_assessment) to see how it impacts your teaching and then using it to improve your teaching!

    Thanks for reading my blog and for your comment!

  3. David Pino says:

    Brain Gym at http://www.braingym.org/, provides a movement-based program that increases focus and optimizes learning. It can be used in whole classrooms to increase focus and attention before instruction.

Leave a Reply

