JA BizTown

Biztown

Today, I got to accompany my three 5th grade students, along with the rest of the 4th and 5th grade classes, to JA BizTown for a day of hands-on activities that support work and community.  We have been preparing for this day-long field trip for a while now with the students learning to apply for jobs, write checks, balance a checkbook, and run for mayor.  I wish I could post pictures of my students because they looked great in their hardhats going from business to business reading the meters as Utility Engineers.  Their favorite job was going around a replacing all of the dirty air filters with clean ones.  My students had a great experience and got a lot out of observing the other students do their jobs.  The other students were amazed at how busy they were and how short a 30 minute lunch break really is!  It was an excellent experience and I hope I have the opportunity to go again!  What sorts of community education opportunities do you have with your students?

About krummme

I have been working with children with special needs in some capacity or other for the last 9 years. I am currently in my third year teaching in a self-contained classroom for students with Intellectual Disabilities. In addition to my classroom responsibilities, I am also a wife and mother. While the jobs of wife and mother bring me the most joy, I get so much out of my work with my students. This blog is the musings of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

